Northampton County Public Schools School Board Members

The Northampton County Public Schools are governed by the Northampton County School Board, which is composed of seven members who are elected by the voters. A superintendent is appointed by the School Board to administer the operations of the County’s public schools.

The School Board functions independently of the County Board but is required to prepare and submit an annual budget to the County Board of Supervisors for its consideration. Because the School Board can neither levy taxes nor incur indebtedness under Virginia law, the local costs of the school system are in large part provided by appropriation from the County’s General Fund. The costs of constructing school facilities are generally provided by capital appropriations from the County’s General fund, through State Literary Fund loans, Qualified Zone Academy Bonds, and through the Virginia Public School Authority.

Liz Jones  

Chairperson

6 Tazewell Avenue

Cape Charles, VA 23310

District 1

Email: lizjones@ncpsk12.com

Phone #- (240) 832-8013

4

Helene B. Doughty

Vice Chairperson

15336 Seaside Rd.

Cape Charles, Va 23310

District 2

Email: hdoughty@ncpsk12.com

Phone #- (757) 999-0780

2

Betty Borden

School Board Member 

PO Box 395

Nassawadox, VA 23413

District 3

Email: bborden@ncpsk12.com

Phone #- (757) 630-1995

borden

Joseph E. Andrews

School Board Member 

PO Box 1475

Exmore, VA 23350

 At Large District

Email: jandrews@ncpsk12.com

Phone #- (804) 396-5459

Profile Photo

Jo Ann Molera

School Board Member

PO Box 160

Franktown, VA 23354 

District 4

Email: jamolera@ncpsk12.com

Phone #- (757) 442-4848

4

Ian Brenson

School Board Member 

PO Box 185

Jamesville, VA 23398

District 5

Email: ibrenson@ncpsk12.com

Phone #- (757) 919-0160

 

doighty

Jill Bieri

School Board Member

2246 Sand Hill Drive

Cape Charles, VA 23310

 At Large District

Email: jbieri@ncpsk12.com

Phone#- (757) 880-8018

bieri

 Karen Pitt

School Board Clerk

 Email: kpitt@ncpsk12.com

5

Dr. Lisa Martin

Superintendent of Schools 

Email: lmartin@ncpsk12.com

Thanks for your support of Northampton County Public Schools. Please feel free to contact me at (lmartin@ncpsk12.com), or (757-678-5151 x 2002) to learn more about Northampton County Public Schools or if you have any questions.

4